University of Maryland Extension

UME Response to COVID-19

 

 

In response to the University of Maryland, Worcester County Government, and Governor Larry Hogan’s actions taken to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, the University of Maryland Extension, Worcester County Office is implementing policies to limit in-person transactions and safeguard the health of its employees, stakeholders and the general public. 

Effective immediately, University of Maryland Extension is currently functioning, however, building access is limited to staff only.  Our employees are teleworking so appointments will be held via email and/or conference call between 8 am and 4:30 pm. During this time, our faculty and staff will continue to be available by email and call forwarding. Please dial the main office line for any faculty or staff member, and your inquiry will be directed to them right away.  Dial 410-632-1972.  If line is not answered immediately, it means the phone is occupied by another caller.  Please leave a message. 

 

Karen D. Reddersen, Area Extension Director – kredders@umd.edu  Cell Phone 301-325-3960

Kathy Decker, Administrative Asst. II – kjdecker@umd.edu  Cell Phone 410-726-5232

Kelly Carroll-Richardson, 4-H Program Assistant – kcarrol3@umd.edu

Jennifer Dindinger, Watershed Mgmt. and Restoration Senior Agent – jdinding@umd.edu

Kiran Dixit, Nutrient Management Advisor – kdixit@umd.edu

Deanna Dunn, Rural Opioid Technical Assistance Agent Associate – ddunn123@umd.edu

Mary Kline, Master Gardener Program Assistant – mkline14@umd.edu

Christine Main, FSNE Project Leader/Nutrition Educator – cmain1@umd.edu

Cindy Morris, 4-H Program Coordinator – cmorris1@umd.edu

Lisa Murphy, 4-H STEM Educator (UMES) – lbmurphy@umes.edu

Maegan Perdue, Agriculture Agent Associate – mperdue@umd.edu

Ginny Rosenkranz, Commercial Horticulture Principal Agent – rosnkrnz@umd.edu

Additionally, all in-person public meetings will be cancelled, postponed or held via teleconference.

 

As part of the state’s strong response to COVID-19, Governor Hogan issued an executive order providing a grace period for any state licenses, permits and/or registrations that may be expiring or up for renewal during the state of emergency. Renewal deadlines will be extended up to 30 days after the state of emergency is lifted. This order applies to a number of items issued by MDA programs, including but not limited to: pesticide applicator licenses, State Chemist product registrations and nutrient management certifications.

 

This is a rapidly evolving situation, and University of Maryland Extension will continue working hard to maintain normal operations as much as possible. Any questions regarding specific programs or services should be sent to Administrative Assistant, Kathy Decker at kjdecker@umd.edu for proper routing.

 

For more information on the statewide response to COVID-19, please visit governor.maryland.gov/coronavirus.

 

The University of Maryland Extension programs are open to all and will not discriminate against anyone because of race, age, sex, color, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, religion, ancestry, or natural origin, marital status, genetic information, political affiliation, or gender identity and expression.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2020. Web Accessibility