University of Maryland Extension University of Maryland

College of Agriculture & Natural Resources

                                                               

Our Vision is to empower people, through education, to make sound decisions throughout their lives.

Our Mission is to educate citizens so that they may apply practical, research-based information to address critical issues in agriculture, food, natural resources, youth and family.

Who we are... Extension is a national partnership between the U.S. Department of Agriculture, state land-grant universities, and county government. In Maryland, Extension comprises the off-campus educational arm of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources of the University of Maryland, College Park. As faculty members of the university, county Extension agents and educators teach citizens research-based information concerning agriculture and natural resources, family and consumer sciences and 4-H youth development in their communities.

Location - Charles County is on the Southern Maryland peninsula. It is bordered by Prince George's County to the north, St. Mary's County to the south, Calvert County to the east and the Potomac River to the west. It is 23 miles south of Washington, 54 miles southwest of Baltimore and 89 miles north of Richmond.

FROM MD Interstate 95...take exit 7 Branch Avenue South towards Waldorf; Branch Avenue will turn into Crain Highway (Route 301S); Follow Crain Highway into Charles County. Once across County Line go approximate 10 miles. Go through traffic light at La Plata Walmart, through next light which is Shining Willow Way, and turn right at Potomac Square (Chesapeake Street) Follow road to end, turn left. Office is located at the end of building, Suites, 119, 121 and 123. 

Staff Directory

Chris Seubert - Area Extension Director for Calvert, Charles & St. Marys Counties cseubert@umd.edu

4-H Youth Development
Vera Figueiredo - 4-H Extension Educator veraf@umd.edu
Bonnie Boyden - Program Management Specialist bboyden@umd.edu
Dale Bowling - Ext. Program Assistant / EFNEP dbowling@umd.edu
Debbie House - Ext. Program Assistant dhouse1@umd.edu
Jeanne Herbert - Ext. Program Assistant jeanneh@umd.edu

Family & Consumer Sciences
Donna Bailey - Ext. Program Assistant dbailey1@umd.edu
Patricia Maynard - Faculty Ext. Assistant, Finance for Charles & Prince Georges Counties pmaynard@umd.edu

Master Gardener Coordinator
Luke Gustafson lng@umd.edu

Nutrient Management
Francis Warring - Coordinator & Nutrient Management Advisor fwarring@umd.edu

Administrative Assistants
Donna Mohler dmohler@umd.edu
Elizabeth Solis-McGarry esolismc@umd.edu



 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter  Share on Digg  Share This ShareThis

For more information, contact the Charles County Extension office

Section: 
The University of Maryland Extension programs are open to any person and will not discriminate against anyone because of race, age, sex, color, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, religion, ancestry, national origin, marital status, genetic information, political affiliation, and gender identity or expression.
IET Departmentof the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2014.