University of Maryland Extension

UME Response to COVID-19

In response to the University of Maryland, Allegany County Government and Governor Larry Hogan's actions taken to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, the University of Maryland Extension, Allegany County Office is implementing policies to limit in-person transactions and safeguard the health of its employees, stakeholders and the general public.

Effective immediately, University of Maryland Extension is currently functioning, however, building access is limited to staff only. Our employees are teleworking so appointments will be held via email and/or conference call between 8 am and 4:30 pm. During this time, our staff will continue to be available by phone and email. They can be reached as follows:

Jennifer Bentlejewski:  301-724-3320, jthorn@umd.edu

Amanda Hawkins: 301-724-3320, ahawkin7@umd.edu

Ashby Ruddle:  301-724-3320, extension 115, aruddle@umd.edu

Jesse Ketterman:  301-724-3320, extension 101, jketterm@umd.edu

Jessica Mellon:  301-724-3320, extension 108, jmellon2@umd.edu

Joni Reed:  301-724-3320, extension 105, jonireed@umd.edu

Lacie Ashby: 301-724-3320, extension 106, lashby@umd.edu

Rebecca Chippendale:  301-724-3320, rchip@umd.edu

Sara Barnard:  301-724-3320, extension 107, sbarnard@umd.edu

Sherry Frick:  301-724-3320, extension 103, sfrick@umd.edu

Shirley Guinn:  301-724-3320, extension 102, sguinn1@umd.edu

Stephanie Hutter Thomas:  301-724-3320, extension 109, shuttert@umd.edu  

Tammy Humberson:  301-724-3320, extension 110, tammyh@umd.edu

Additionally, all in-person public meetings will be cancelled, postponed or held via teleconference. Information and updates on individual meetings will be posted on our office website and social media accounts as it becomes available.  Our Facebook pages are Allegany County Master Gardeners, Allegany County 4-H and Healthy Living in Allegany County.

As part of the state's strong response to COVID-19, Governor Hogan issued an executive order providing a grace period for any state licenses, permits and/or registrations that may be expiring or up for renewal during the state of emergency. Renewal deadlines will be extended up to 30 days after the state of emergency is lifted. This order applies to a number of items issued by MDA programs, including but not limited to: pesticide applicator licenses, State Chemist product registrations and nutrient management certifications.

This is a rapidly evolving situation, and University of Maryland Extension will continue working hard to maintain normal operations as much as possible. Any questions regarding specific programs or services should be sent to UME-Allegany County.

For more information on the statewide response to COVID-19, please visit governor.maryland.gov/coronavirus.

Welcome to University of Maryland Extension (UME) of Allegany County.

UME Allegany County is part of a statewide, non-formal education system within the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources of the University of Maryland, College Park and the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore. This partnership also includes support from USDA and Allegany County government. 

The Allegany County UME faculty and staff provide a broad range of outreach through workshops, seminars, classes, clinics, newsletters, consultations, and media efforts.  For information on any of the topics listed above, click on the corresponding image.

Section: 
Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2020. Web Accessibility