UME Plan of Organization

The purpose of the UME Plan of Organization is to provide a structure for shared, balanced governance for the unit called University of Maryland Extension within the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, giving due regard to rights, responsibilities, and participation of the entire departmental community. This plan specifically applies to UME faculty and staff. This document is reviewed every five years and updated.

UME Plan of Organization


UME 2020 Programmatic Plan

In the following document, UME program leaders have stated their program’s, mission, vision, priority areas, strategic goals, and hallmarks of success of each program area.

UME 2020 Programmatic Plan

Shared Governance Structure

The AD shall communicate with and be advised by the University of Maryland Extension Council (UMEC), Administrative Council (AC), Faculty Advisory Council (FAC), Staff Advisory Council (SAC), and the Statewide Extension Advisory Council (SEAC). Each of the following councils shall develop and maintain by-laws and provide a timeline summary of meeting minutes to the organization. Minutes are to be posted within two weeks of the meeting.

Administrative Council (AC)

Faculty Advisory Council (FAC)

The current membership, title, and contact information are as follows:

Ronald David Myers (Chair)
 Mark Townsend
 Catherine Frederick
 Ben Beale (Co-Chair)
 Mona Habibi

Contact any committee member with issues or comments you would like brought up. Your issues will be shared.

Meeting dates:

June 26, 2023

October 23, 2023


Staff Advisory Council (SAC)

Do you have an issue or topic you would like to bring to the attention of the committee? 

Go to for your anonymous comments.

You may also contact any of the members listed below.  We are committed to bringing issues to the attention of the UME administrative team.  As an advisory council, we can share, advise, and make suggestions; it is up to the administrative team to listen, consider, and decide on matters that affect the entire organization.

To read about the makeup and responsibilities of the UME-SAC,   

Membership consists of county/city, regional and state exempt and non-exempt staff members. 

The current membership, contact information, category representing, title, and location follows:

Past Chair:  Nan Stenzel, Wye Research and Education Center, Fiscal & Personnel Operations, 7/1/20-6/30/23; Chair-elect 7/1/20-6/30/21; Chair 7/1/21-12/31/22.

Chair:  Bonnie Boyden, Charles County, 7/1/22-6/30/24

Chair-Elect: Jim Barey, Queen Anne's County, 7/1/22-6/30/24

Secretary: Kathleen Decker, Worcester County, 7/1/21-6/30/23

Member At Large: Brad Paleg, AGNR Information and Education Technology, 7/1/19-6/30/22; Chair 7/1/20-6/30/21; Past Chair 7/1/22-6/30/24

Lisa Strong, Frederick County, 7/1/22-6/30/24

Wanda Guard, Garrett County, 7/1/21-6/30/23

Contact any committee member with issues or comments you would like brought up.  Your issue will be shared.

Staff Advisory Council By-laws (amended 9/23/2019)

Statewide Extension Advisory Council (SEAC)