home & garden information center

 

The Home and Garden Information Center (HGIC) is a state-wide program that provides outreach education to Maryland residents and beyond.

Our Vision

People gardening and managing land in harmony with nature.

Our Mission

Develop and deliver science-based, sustainable gardening, and integrated pest management education for better human and environmental health.

HGIC has been a national model for outreach education since 1990. Our success is the result of interdisciplinary programming and multiple learning/teaching modes. Our educators develop web resources and are engaged in social media, direct online client consultations, classroom instruction, hands-on training, and demonstration projects.

Yard and garden questions

Questions and images can be sent anytime to Ask Extension. HGIC's Maryland Certified Professional Horticulturists will reply to your garden, plant ID, and pest questions.

PDF 2020 Home & Garden | Master Gardener Annual Report

 
Name Contact Information
Jon Traunfeld
HGIC Director, Extension Specialist, Fruits & Vegetables
jont@umd.edu
410 531 5572
David Clement, Ph.D.
Extension Specialist
Plant Pathology
(20% HGIC; 80% commercial industry)
clement@umd.edu
410 531 5558
Ria Malloy
Program Coordinator
mmalloy@umd.edu
410 531 1763
Stephanie Pully
Coordinator
State UME Master Gardener Coordinator
pully@umd.edu
410 531 1754
Dan Adler
Program Management Specialist
Video Production and Web Support
danadler@umd.edu
410 531 1764
Jean Burchfield
Program Management Specialist
State Master Gardener Program
jbur@umd.edu
410 531 5557
Christa Carignan
Coordinator
Digital Horticulture Education
christa@umd.edu
410 531 1752
Marian Hengemihle
Coordinator
Horticulture Consultant
mhengemi@umd.edu
Chris McComas
Coordinator
Horticulture Consultant
cmccomas@umd.edu
Ellen Nibali
Coordinator
Horticulture Consultant
enibali@umd.edu
Debra Ricigliano
Extension Program Assistant
Lead Horticulturist
dricigli@umd.edu
410 531 0109
Miri Talabac
Coordinator
Horticulture Consultant
mtalabac@umd.edu