The Howard County 4-H Program has a wide variety of clubs that meet in various locations across the county.  The traditional age 4-H clubs are for youth between the ages of 8-18 as of January 1st.  Clover 4-H clubs offer programming to youth between the ages of 5-7 as of January 1st.

How do I find a club?

Below you will find the list of clubs, the club organizational leader and email address.  It is recommended that you contact the club leader to let them know you would like to attend their next meeting and to verify the meeting date, time and place.

Visit a few club meetings from different clubs to help you decide which club seems like a good club for you/your child.  When you are ready to join, talk with the club leader about joining their club.  The club organizational leader will have all of the necessary paperwork that needs to be completed to join 4-H.  A youth needs to attend a club meeting in order to join the Howard County 4-H program.

Youth can join 4-H anytime during the year, however, if they would like to participate in the Howard County Fair, they need to be enrolled as a member by June 1st of the current year.

If you have any questions please contact, 4-H Administrative Assistant, Amy Brueckmann at 410-313-1906 or amyb@umd.edu (link sends e-mail).

centaurs@howard4-H.orgdayton@howard4-H.org

Club Leader Contacts Location and Time

Birds of a Feather

Ages 8-18

Poultry

Kathy Windley

Danae Grigsby

410-465-2128

poultry@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

1st Friday - 7:00 pm

Bullseye 4-H Junior Gun

Ages 8-18

Shooting Sports

Lorraine Clemmer bullseye@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

2nd Thursday - 7:00 pm

Cabin Branch Bunch

Ages 5-7 and 8-18

Trudy Frost

410-456-4293

cabinbranch@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

2nd Friday - 7:00 pm

Centaurs

Ages 8-18

Horses

Rachel Troppman centaurs@howard4-H.org

Lisbon United Methodist Church

2nd Thursday - 6:30 pm

Dayton

Ages 8-18

Marcie Quill

Christine Bouma

dayton@howard4-H.org

Linden Linthicum UMC

4th Thursday - 7:00 pm

Dayton Clovers

Ages 5-7

Darla Church daytonclovers@howard4-H.org

Linden Lithicum UMC

4th Thursday - 7:00 pm

Happy Hounds

Ages 8-18

Dogs

Page King

410-242-6103

happyhounds@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

2nd Thursday - 7:00 pm

Hare Raisers

Ages 8-18

Rabbits

Kathi Wilson

410-790-5397

hareraisers@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

2nd Friday - 7:00 pm

Horizon

Ages 8-18

Dan Barvenik

410-349-6481

horizon@howard4-H.org

Maryland Center for Entrepreneurship

Sunday - 1:pm

Howard County Beef

Ages 8-18

Livestock

Lauren Bresnock

Dallas Briggs

beef@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

2nd Tuesday - 7:15 pm

Howard County Dairy
Ages 8-18

Dairy

Tess Mantua dairy@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

1st Tuesday - 7:00 pm

North Laurel Leader

Ages 5-7 & 8-18

Roanne Smallwood

301-725-3905

northlaurelleaders@howard4-H.org

Forest Ridge Elementary

2nd Friday - 7:00 pm

Patapsco Valley

Age 8-18

Heather Helm

410-775-6569

patapscovalley@howard4-H.org

Hebron House

2nd Monday - 7:00 pm

Poplar

Ages 5-7 & 8-18

Laura Reifsnider

443-277-8318

poplar@howard4-H.org

Poplar Springs UMC

1st Friday - 7:00 pm

Spotlight

Ages 8-18

Kristi Murphy spotlight@howard4-H.org

University of Maryland Extension

Howard County Office

2nd Monday - 7:00 pm

Spur & Stirrup

Ages 8-18

Horse

Carly Earp Benitez

Cyndi Lemmon

spurandstirrup@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

4th Tuesday - 7:00 pm

West Friendship Livestock

Ages 8-18

Pam Roth westfriendship@howard4-H.org

Howard County Fairgrounds

3rd Wednesday - 7:00 pm