University of Maryland Extension

Carrollton 4-H Club Achievement Banquet

            Carrollton 4-H members were welcomed by past president Dorothy MacLean-Blevins to their 2015 Club Achievement Banquet on May 1, 2016.  The club was also celebrating their 50th anniversary where past members were invited for a special celebration.  After a dinner prepared by our 4-H families, the 2015 Executive Board was congratulated for all their hard work.  They were:  Presidents - Dorothy MacLean-Blevins and Kristina Bailey; Vice-Presidents - Caroline MacLean-Blevins and Nick Jones, Secretary - Shelby Rhoten; Treasurer - Natalie Panagakos; and Reporters - Breann and Colleen Sheckells.

            Presenter Dorothy  MacLean-Blevins recognized the following members for receiving the Smiling Clover Award:  Eleyah Beard; Josiyah Beard; and Caleb Chamelin.  She then presented an award bag to the following members for receiving the Junior Up and Coming Awards:  Hunter Dicke; Julianna Dicke; Mackenzie Dicke; Naomi Geiwitz; and Amelia Schilling.  Hunter, Julianna, Mackenzie, and Amelia won the County Up and Coming Award while Amelia won the Outstanding 1st Year 4-Her!     

             Presenter Shelby Rhoten presented gifts to the following members who are Going and Growing:  Owen Alster; Peter Baugher; Garrett Deltuva; Avery Dull; Nick Jones; Serena Newton; Sophie Panagakos; Erin Piper; Molly Rill; Colleen Sheckells; Carly Victor; Michelle Victor; and Ana Yeager.  Owen, Sophie, and Colleen were awarded the County Growing and Going Award.  Ana won the County Outstanding First Year 4-Her and Serena won the County Outstanding Junior Award!  Once again, Carrollton members made a great impact countywide.

            Carrollton then took a break from the Awards part of the Night to welcome our many alumni that attended our celebration.  Several past members spoke and and shared what 4-H and Carrollton  meant to them.  We enjoyed hearing from Jeremy Holland, Hattie Wheeler, and Blair Pasalic. Carrollton also took time to honor our leaders who have served for so many years - Loretta and Dave Basler.  After enjoying the comments from our alumni, Carrollton was entertained by the musical group Three Amigos - lead singer and guitar player is Mr. Dave Victor who happens to be an involved Carrollton parent.   

            The Awards resumed and Nick Jones presented the following senior members with gifts: Elliott Alster; Ethan Alster; Lillian Alster; Kristina Bailey; Emma Baugher; Kaitlyn Davey; Colby Dull; Alison Johnston; Caroline MacLean-Blevins; Dorothy Mac-Lean-Blevins; Matthew Nevin; Jacob Newton; Natalie Panagakos; Colin Piper; Shelby Rhoten; Dean Rill; Keegan Rill; Owen Rill; Dylan Ruby; Breann Sheckells; and Katelynn Shower.  Many of our senior received county recognition.  Elliott Alster - County Citizenship Award, Kaitlyn Davey - County All-Star Leadership Award, Caroline and Dorothy MacLean-Blevins - County I'll Be Glad To Award, and Katelynn Shower - County Alumni Award.  Elliot Alster and Jacob Newton were National Engineering Challenge Trip Winners and Kaitlyn Davey was a National Poultry Judging Competitor.   

            Special notice was given to the following members for Perfect Attendance through 2015 -Julianna Dicke, Mackenzie Dicke, Caroline Maclean-Blevins, Dorothy Maclean-Blevins, and Shelby Rhoten.

            Carrollton requires their members to complete at least 1 project unit and we have several High Achievers that completed 4 or more.  Jacob Newton completed 4 units.  Avery Dull, Colby Dull and Shelby Rhoten each completed 5 project units and Katelynn Shower completed 6 units. Serena Newton completed 6 project units and received 6 Project Medals on all of them thus earning the "Club High Flyer Award". 

            Finally, to conclude the award part of the program, 3 of our members are considered All-Stars as they have completed a Recordbook or Senior Portfolio.  Nick Jones and Serena Newton completed a Recordbook with Serena receiving a County Champion Award and Katelynn Shower completed a Senior Portfolio.  

            Carrollton honored several parents who contributed to making the year a success and special notice went to the Davey family who was "Family of the Year".  Also, getting recognition was leader Lynda Jones for all her time and energy she puts toward making Carrollton the best club around.  Also, thanks to Dave and Loretta Basler for all their years of love and care they have put toward Carrollton 4-Hers.  

            Lastly, Carrollton acknowledged those members that were retiring from 4-H and are now County 4-H Alumni members. They include:  Bryce Davey; Meghan Linfield, Andrew Nevin, Melanie Ogg, Kathryn Piper, Logan Rill, and Katelynn Shower.

            Carrollton 4-H club members had a great year and also made a great showing in County Achievements.  Let's hope for another great year in 2016 and maybe even another 50 years!  

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2019. Web Accessibility