University of Maryland Extension

Logger of the Year

The MD-DE Master Logger Steering Committee and the Maryland Forests Association (MFA) are requesting nominations for the 2018 Logger of the Year award. The award program is open to all independent logging contractors. Preference will be given to Active MD-DE Master Loggers, but others are encouraged to apply. 

The award winner will receive an engraved plaque, complimentary registration at the MFA Family Picnic and Education Day, or a major Field Day event, and a chainsaw. If eligible, the winner will automatically be nominated for the regional 2019 Forest Resources Association Outstanding Logger Award.

Who can submit a nomination? Anyone! Self-nomination is encouraged.

NOTE: Past winners of the LOY Award from 2008 and earlier are eligible for nomination.

Take a look at the Award Guidelines for a list of topics that will support your nomination. You do not need to address each topic. Learn more about Past Loggers of the Year from our newletter: THE LOGGER.

Nominations must be received by August 15, 2018 at, or at this link:

Hard copies may be mailed to:

Agnes Kedmenecz
Wye Research and Education Center
PO Box 169
Queenstown, MD 21658-0169

Loggers of the Year

The first five are ineligible for the 2018 award: 

2017 Timothy Smith II, T. D. Smith, LLC, Bel Air, MD
2013 Eddie Moore, Forest Friendly Logging, Willards, MD
2012 Blickenstaff Logging, Myersville, MD
2011 Graybeal Logging, Westminster, MD
2010 F.D. Eure, Hebron, MD
2009 Furman Forest Services LLC, Frostburg, MD
2008 Tree Family Logging, LLC, Frostburg MD
2007 R&S Logging, Millington, MD
2006 Sines Logging, Friendsville, MD
2005 Cessna Brothers Logging, Clearville, PA **
2004 Curtis E. Clark & Sons Logging, Everett, PA
2003 Paul Egolf, Low Country Timber Company, Stockton, MD
2002 Beckman Lumber, Mt. Lake Park, MD
2001 Steve Brown, Lonngridge, LLC , Fruitland, MD
2000 Clyde "Stevie" Stevenson, Ota Stevenson, Inc., Salisbury, MD**
1999 Calvin Dolan, Jr., Dolan Logging, Oldtown, MD
1998 Phil MacDonald, Timber Harvest, Inc., Cordova, MD
1997 David Earl Opel, Double D Logging, Frostburg, MD
1996 Payne's Logging, Inc., Delmar, MD
1995 Arthur Egolf, Egolf Forest Harvesting, Delmar, DE
1994 Jim Lynch, L&W Harvesting, Inc., Mardella Springs, MD
1993 Fred Glasglow, Glasglow Logging, Salisbury, MD
1992 Richard R. Brown, Salisbury, MD
1991 Greg VanMeter, VanMeter pulpwood Company, Bushwood, MD
1990 Eddie Moore, Willards, MD
1989 D&J Timber, Swanton, MD
1988 C.W. Matthews & Sons, Laurel, DE
1987 Wallace Johnson, Mechanicsville, MD**

**These loggers have gone on to win the Forest Resources Association's Regional Outstanding Logger of the Year Awards.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility