About

The Home and Garden Information Center (HGIC) is a state-wide program that provides outreach education to Maryland residents and beyond.

HGIC has been a national model for outreach education since 1990. Our success is the result of inter-disciplinary programming and multiple learning/teaching modes. Our educators develop web resources and are engaged in social media, direct online client consultations, classroom instruction, hands-on training, and demonstration projects. 

From our website you can access:

Business Office phone: 410-531-5556
Send us your gardening questions, please go to:"Ask Maryland's Gardening Experts." Sorry but we're not set up to answer questions by phone or with walk-ins.

Business Office fax: 410-531-5567
Address: 12005 Homewood Road, Ellicott City, MD 21042

Faculty

Jon Traunfeld, Center Director
jont@umd.edu

Extension Specialist, Fruits and Vegetables
State Master Gardener Coordinator

410-531-5572

Jon Traunfeld

Dave Clement, Ph.D.
clement@umd.edu

Extension Specialist, Plant Pathology (20% HGIC; 80% commercial industry)
410-531-5558

 

Mary Kay Malinoski
mkmal@umd.edu

Extension Specialist, Entomology (20% HGIC; 80% commercial industry)
410-531-5568

 Mary Kay Malinoski

Sara Tangren, Ph.D.
stangren@umd.edu

Agent Associate | Master Gardener Trainer | Sustainable Horticulture and Native Plants
301-580-6237

Sara Tangren

Staff

 Malloy

Ria Malloy
mmalloy@umd.edu

Assistant Program Director
410-531-1763

Dan Adler

Dan Adler
danadler@umd.edu

Web and Communications Coordinator
410-531-1764

Ricigliano

Debra Ricigliano
dricigli@umd.edu

Extension Program Assistant
410-531-0109

Alicia Bembenek

Alicia Bembenek, Ph.D.
aliciafb@umd.edu

Master Gardener Advanced
Training Coordinator
410-531-1754

Leith

James Leith
jleith@umd.edu

Extension Program Assistant

Beth Bukoski
ebukoski@umd.edu

Administrative Assistant II
Master Gardener Program
410-531-5557

Certified Professional Horticulturists

Christa Carignan


christa@umd.edu

Coordinator, Digital Horticulture Education

410-531-1752

  Hengemihle

Marian Hengemihle
mhengemi@umd.edu

 Nibali

Ellen Nibali
enibali@umd.edu

Chris McComas

 Chris McComas
cmccomas@umd.edu

Annual Reports
2016
2014-2015
2013
2011
2010  

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017.